A: The Pips put the “Woo-woo!” behind Gladys Knight’s midnight train, but in the insurance world, “PIP” stands for Personal Injury Protection.
Also known as “no-fault coverage,” PIP is mandatory in Florida. Florida’s no-fault law requires motor vehicles owners to carry $10,000 of PIP and $10,000 of property damage liability.
Section 627.736 of the Florida Statutes mandates that PIP insurance must pay 80% of all reasonable and medically necessary medical treatment and services and with certain provisions. This can also include lost wages and funeral expenses.
In Florida, additional PIP coverage or “extended PIP” may also be purchased. Drivers also have the option of purchasing additional property damage insurance.
Once PIP coverage is exhausted, then the insured’s medical payments coverage kicks in until those limits are exhausted. If the insured is not at fault, the other party’s liability insurance will be the next resource for coverage.
If the other party’s limits are exhausted or if they don’t have insurance, then uninsured motorist (UM) insurance can, within policy limits, cover the rest. We’ll talk more about UM in an upcoming blog post.
For answers to your insurance questions, including which coverage will work best for your personal needs, give us a call today at Coggins Insurance!